Procedure for updating the project for server and client.
Procedure for updating the project for server and client
If a project update is to be made, it is not necessary to recreate the configuration settings again and again. In most cases, it is sufficient to transfer the project file. In this article, we describe what you need to consider.
Note that the .config files usually do not have to be transferred during an update. If you do this anyway, you will have to set the originally set parameters of the support application again. These files store the settings you have made for the server and client(s). Of course, the settings will be lost if the file is overwritten. Thus, overwriting the .config files usually does not make sense. If changes need to be made to the configuration, this must be done via the support application and the already used .config must be used.
Update of the server project | Target files in the Server folder
In the destination folder for the server project, you will find two files. These are generally required for setting up a project on the customer’s computer.
As described above, this file is not to be taken into account during an update. This file stores the settings you have made for the connection between server and client, storage settings of the Elvis data, such as recordings, current values, etc., the authentication rules, whether redundant server operation has been set up and other settings for the operation of the Elvis server.
If changes are made to the server project, it is usually sufficient to transfer the server.elviss file to the target computer. This is the case for the changes to logic, extensions of process connections and the changes to data point lists.
- Stop the Elvis server.
- Save the previous .elviss file.
- Transfer the file to the project directory.
- Restart the Elvis Server.
Update of the client project
Terminal | Target files in the Terminal folder
In the event of changes in the Terminal Project, only one file is to be replaced, the <Project.elvist>. The ClientLib file is also located in the terminal folder of the target files. If you have made changes in the ClientLib, it is of course necessary to apply them as well. You can find the description below.
The .elvist file contains the basics you have set for the project. Here it is defined what the operating pages look like, which navigation paths are available and which commands are passed on to the server through the bindings. Replace this file – without any further settings – if you have made any changes here. If data points have been added to the project, you must of course also replace the .elviss server file.
- Exit the terminal.
- Save the previous .elvist file.
- Transfer the new .elvist file to the project directory.
- Launch the terminal.
Elvis Mobile | Target files in the Elvis Mobile folder
Here you will find a folder and a configuration file. The configuration file is necessary for setting up the project and is usually not replaced after the initial setup.
This file is required to set up the mobile service on the server and regulates the communication between mobile devices and the Elvis server. Once settings have been made, they usually remain valid and do not have to be re-entered when changes are made to the project. So leave them untouched if you want to get full and error-free access to your project.
This folder contains all visualization data for the Elvis Mobile project. Changes to the controls are contained in this folder. This should always be completely replaced. This will prevent image files from being overlooked. Additionally, delete any folders that begin with Scaled. These are dynamically generated again at runtime and then also contain all changes
- Stop/quit the Elvis Viewer app on your devices.
Android: Settings-Apps-Elvis Viewer- Force Stop
iOS: Double-click on the start button and slide the Elvis Viewer app upwards out of the image
- Back up the previous folder and folders starting with Scaled.
- Transfer the new folder to the project directory.
- Launch the Elvis Viewer app again.
Elvis Web | Target files in the Elvis Web folder
Here you will find a folder and a configuration file. The configuration file is necessary for setting up the project and we usually don’t need it anymore after the initial setup. All other files contain the way the project is displayed in the browser.
This file is required to set up the web service on the server and regulates the communication between Elvis Web and the Elvis server. Once settings have been made, they usually remain valid and do not have to be re-entered when changes are made to the project. So leave them untouched if you want to get full and error-free access to your project.
The Images folder of an Elvis Web project contains all the necessary image elements that are important for the runtime. If changes are made to the project, it makes sense to transfer this folder from scratch. This avoids the danger of forgetting an image element.
Other files in the Web project
Changes to a web project usually affect specific pages. Since the file size is usually not too large, all .aspx files can be safely taken with you here. Again, it is safer to take all the files with you so as not to forget anything. However, make sure that the web.config is not overdubbed.
If you have made changes to generally valid resources stored in the ClientLib, these must of course be incorporated into the project. This is only necessary if you have used them in the terminal project. For Elvis Mobile and Elvis Web projects, these are integrated directly into the respective project files. In the case of use in the terminal project, the file must be transferred to the target computer. You can find the file in the Terminal directory.
- Quit the client.
- Back up the previous <project>. ClientLib.dll file.
- Transfer the new <project>. ClientLib.dll file to the project directory.
- Restart the client.
The file can be found in the project directory. Unless otherwise specified, the file contains all currently set values for data points, but also for automation functions, records if applicable, and the alarm history.
Deletion of the file causes the loss of data and is only recommended with prior backup. If this file is still reset, Elvis loads the settings of the settings previously defined in the project.